Welcome to City of Whiteville
Citizens First

Latest News

City of Whiteville News and Announcements

Town election filings begin July 7

Municipal election filings for a number of town board and mayoral seats begin July 7 at noon.

Jackie Bozeman of the Columbus County Board of Elections said the filing fee is $5 for all races, and the filing period ends July 21.

Every municipality in the county has at least one seat on the ballot on its governing board this fall. Mayors serve two-year terms, and city and town councils, four years. Board elections are held in staggered years.

Mayors and board members whose terms expire this year are:

Bolton – Mayor Shawn Maynor, Daniel Brown, Pearl Mills

Brunswick – Mayor Nancy L. Hill, Alonzo McArthur, Shirley Moore

Cerro Gordo – Mayor David White, Eloise Bulloch, Jeffery Greene, Tracey Blackwell

Chadbourn – Rashad Roberts, David Worley

Fair Bluff – Mayor Billy Hammond, Randy Britt, Clarice Vereen Faison, Franklin Lester Drew

Lake Waccamaw – Mayor Daniel Hilburn, Martha Lowe, Matt Wilson

Sandyfield—Leonard Hall Tabor City – Mayor Royce Harper, Sam Rogers, Lamont Grate

Whiteville—Mayor Terry Mann, Tim Blackmon, Vickie Pait, Harold Troy

Only residents of municipalities may run in town and city elections, and residents may only vote in the ward or district where they live, except for mayoral races, which are all at-large.

For more information on filing, or to update your voter registration information, call 640-6609.

Story by: Jefferson Weaver, The News Reporter

Stuart Rogers