Welcome to City of Whiteville
Citizens First

Latest News

City of Whiteville News and Announcements

Mann files for re-election as Whiteville mayor; two newcomers toss hats into ring for city council

By Allen Turner, The News Reporter

Whiteville Mayor Terry Mann filed re-election Monday and three people filed to run for two Whiteville city council seats as all of the second day’s filings for the Nov. 5 municipal elections in Columbus County involved Whiteville offices.

Filing began Friday at noon and continues until 12 noon on July 19. The filing fee for all offices is $5.


Marc McGee and Kevin G. Williamson both filed Monday for the two available Whiteville city council District 1 seats currently held by Sara B. Thompson and Robert Leder. Incumbent District 2 Whiteville Councilman Jimmy Clarida filed f0r re-election Monday morning and, at the end of the day, still was unopposed.

During the first day of filing Friday, cordial competitors for the Lake Waccamaw East Ward commissioner seat were the first two candidates throwing their hats into the ring. They were political newcomer Rosemary Dorsey and incumbent Jimmy Rogers Jr. Dorsey and Rogers were pleasant, each wishing the other well, and Dorsey’s husband even offered to hold the Bible for Rogers when he was administered the oath verifying the accuracy of his paperwork.

Another political newcomer, Jimmy Bowen, filed Friday for one of three at large board of aldermen seats in Boardman. Incumbents in those seats are Ruth Waddell, Eugene Neal Jr. and Lee “Tony” Freeman, none of whom have yet filed for re-election.

Also filing Friday was Incumbent Tabor City councilman David E. Mincey. Friday. He is seeking re-election to one of two open seats. The other incumbent whose term is up for re-election, Nelson Lee, has not yet to filed.

Filing will continue through 12 noon on Friday, July 19. Filing hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday except for the last day. The fee to file for all office is $5.

Voters in nine towns will elect six mayors and 22 governing body members. Mayors posts town council members will be voted on in Whiteville, Chadbourn, Tabor City, Bolton, Sandyfield and Cerro Gordo. There will be no mayoral election in Brunswick, Fair Bluff or Lake Waccamaw, but residents of those towns will be electing governing body members.

Stuart Rogers